Latin American Free Trade Pacts and Agreements

14700071 s Free Trade AThe United States and countries throughout Latin America have put in place numerous trade agreements.

The United States has free trade agreements (multi-lateral and bilateral) in force with twenty countries.  

For more information on U.S. Free Trade Agreements, click here.

Chile alone claims to have more bilateral or regional trade agreements than any other country. It has 60 such agreements (not all of them full free trade agreements), including with the European Union, Mercosur, China, India, South Korea, and Mexico. Additionally, the country deepened its longstanding commitment to trade liberalization with the signing of a free trade agreement with the U.S., which took effect on 1 January 2004.

CARICOM, the Caribbean Community and Common Market, is an organization of 15 Caribbean nations and dependencies. CARICOM was established by treaty in 1973. The secretariat headquarters is based in Georgetown, Guyana.

Key Latin America Trade Agreements and Pacts

Agreement /Pact Countries Involved

NAFTA North American Free Trade Agreement

USMCA In negotiation/ approval process

United States, Canada, Mexico

New US-Mexico-Canada trade agreement in legislative approval process in each country in 2019 time frame

Mercosur Regional Trade Organization Member Countries: Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay
Associate Members: Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru
Observing Members: Mexico
DR CAFTA Central American Free Trade Agreement Member Countries: Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, United States
CAN Andean Community of Nations Member Countries: Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia
Associate Members: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay
Observing Members: Mexico, Panama, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Spain
ALADI Latin America Integration Association Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Cuba, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay,
ALBA Bolivarian Alliance for the People of our America Venezuela, Ecuador, Antiqua, Bolivia, Cuba, Dominica, Nicaragua, San Vincent,
G-3 Agreement Colombia, MexicoVenezuela

CARICOM Caribbean Community and Common Market




Associate Members: Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Turks & Caicos Islands
CARICOM Observers: Aruba, Bermuda, Mexico, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Netherlands Antilles



Ask a question